Still not up and running.

Standard

Just thought I would log in and let everyone know that I am still alive, but recovering from whatever got ahold of me last week.  I have not had the energy to get up and experiment in the kitchen.  In fact, I haven’t had the energy to cook at all.  I am very thankful to my hubby who has been cooking, and following what he has seen me do for the last couple of weeks.  I am down a total of 12 pounds now, but that may due, in part, to this illness.  Thankfully, the doctor prescribed some medicine today that should help soon.

I guess you are wondering what hubby has been cooking?  Well, he did decide to experiment with some bbq sauce for chicken.  As you know, bbq sauce often contains a lot of sugar, and a lot of recipes call for ketchup.  We didn’t really want either of those.  So he mixed together a can of tomato sauce, 1/2 tbsp apple cider vinegar, regular dijon mustard, lite soy sauce, 1 tsp of molasses, garlic powder, black pepper and cayenne pepper.  Of course, he can’t give me measurements on anything, but he said he just kept tasting it.  It was actually really good and had a little kick to it.

He has used the sauce for chicken and shrimp and it was just divine.  He has maintained my one large salad a day with a protein and one meal that is made up of a green vegetable and protein.  Breakfast usually consists of an egg and melba toast.  I also have Melba rounds with all of the other meals and consume a fruit mid-morning and mid-afternoon.

If you want to explore a really great blog/nutrition site while I am on hiatus, check out http://www.purelynutritious.com  I hope she won’t mind me directing you to her, but she has some really great information.

Keeping it healthy!

Theresa

About scrapbk4fun

I am the mother of two girls. I am flawed beyond measure. I have a Doctorate Degree in Educational Leadership. I have been a social worker, truancy officer, scrapbook store owner, counselor, Special Education Director, and am currently the Principal of a fairly large middle school. I am passionate about my faith, family, career and education. I enjoy ventriloquism, cooking, scrapbooking, photography, exercising and spending time with my family. My favorite vacation spot is the beach, although I love anywhere that is outdoors! Extraordinarily Boring Adventures are stories from my memory of my childhood. They may or may not be accurate, but are just what I remember. While Dieting, Food, and Other Life Struggles are just my way of sharing about life. Hope you enjoy reading about this simple thing called life.

Leave a Reply

