Brownies? Hmmmm……

Standard

So, last night someone shared a recipe on Facebook for a 37 calorie Brownie.  I was highly intrigued.  I LOVE chocolate (who doesn’t right?).  I studied the recipe, which might be fabulous.  I have no idea.  Based on the diet I have developed for myself, I am afraid that the yogurt and rolled oats would be outside of the realm of what I want to eat.  I decided to work on it a bit, to see what I could do.

First batch  – yuk – scrapped!

Second batch – hmmmm…. a bit better (I still may see how the 37 Calorie one tastes and affects me)

Here is what I came up with (a link to the 37 calorie brownie will follow – maybe you can tweak it and do better than I):

Image

 

Brownie Recipe:

1/2 cup unprocessed bran

1/2 cup cocoa powder

1/2 cup Splenda

3 TBSP Dry Nonfat Milk

1/2 – 3/4 cup water

1/3 cup of unsweetened Applesauce

1 tsp Butter flavoring

1 tsp Vanilla

1 tsp of Baking Powder

1 egg

Pinch of Salt

Mix all ingredients in a food processor and blend until smooth (will be very watery).  Pour into an 8×8 baking dish sprayed with Pam. Bake at 350 for 23 minutes.  Cool and cut into 9 squares.

Image

Image

The other recipe:

37 CALORIES BROWNIES from ACE – Appetite Control & Energy with Rachel
3/4 cup nonfat Greek yogurt (I used vanilla)
1/4 cup skim milk
1/2 cup Cocoa powder
1/2 cup Old fashioned rolled oats (like Quaker)
1/2 cup Truvia (or any natural/stevia based sweetener that pours like sugar)
1 egg
1/3 cup applesauce
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 pinch salt

Preheat the oven to 400°F. Grease a square baking dish (I used 8″x8″). Combine all ingredients into a food processor or a blender, and blend until smooth (about 1 minute). Pour into the prepared dish and bake for about 15 minutes. Allow to cool completely before cutting into 9 large squares.

**************************************************

Since my take on this brownie recipe may, or may not, be any good, I thought I would share a quick and easy way to make some Strawberry Sherbert (that does fit into my diet plan).

Strawberry Sherbert Recipe:

2 Cups Frozen Unsweetened Strawberries

1 Tbsp nonfat dry milk

1.5 tsp of Splenda (or to taste)

1 tsp Vanilla extract

2 Tbsp of Water (or more as needed for consistency)

Place all ingredients in blender and blend until creamy….add more water if needed.  Serve immediately or hold in freezer for up to 20 minutes.  If it freezes too much, you may need to reblend before serving.

Yield:  2 servings.

About scrapbk4fun

I am the mother of two girls. I am flawed beyond measure. I have a Doctorate Degree in Educational Leadership. I have been a social worker, truancy officer, scrapbook store owner, counselor, Special Education Director, and am currently the Principal of a fairly large middle school. I am passionate about my faith, family, career and education. I enjoy ventriloquism, cooking, scrapbooking, photography, exercising and spending time with my family. My favorite vacation spot is the beach, although I love anywhere that is outdoors! Extraordinarily Boring Adventures are stories from my memory of my childhood. They may or may not be accurate, but are just what I remember. While Dieting, Food, and Other Life Struggles are just my way of sharing about life. Hope you enjoy reading about this simple thing called life.

Leave a Reply

