February 11, 2014 – Apple Spice Cake

Standard

Image

So, today is Tuesday, February 11, 2014.  We are having bad weather, thanks to Winter Storm Pax.  Since I got out of school early, today, I decided to work on an Apple Spice Cake that would meet all of my criteria.  I had a couple of other recipes to work with, so here is my “tweaked” recipe.  I would credit the other recipes, but they were hand-written and I have no idea where they came from.

Apple Spice Cake:

Ingredients

1 c. Vanilla Protein Powder

1/4 c. non-fat dry Milk

3 level tsp. a diet sweetener

1 c. unprocessed bran (I bought this from Swanson)

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. lemon peel

1 pkg. Alpine Diet Apple Cider Drink Mix packet

1 tsp cinnamon (or more if you like cinnamon as much as I do)

1/2 tsp nutmeg

8 eggs

1 TBSP Vanilla Extract

1 TBSP Butter Flavored Extract

2 Cups unsweetened Applesauce

Preparation

Beat eggs and flavorings until light and fluffy. Add combined dry ingredients to egg mixture and fold in applesauce. Mix well. Pour into 9×13 pan or Bundt Pan sprayed with Pam. Bake at 350 for 35 minutes. Cool and cut cake into 8 pieces.

Note:  If using a Bundt Pan, it takes about an hour to cook.   Also, use care when folding in applesauce.   I noticed this is a very very moist cake.  I like it better when chilled in the refrigerator.  I would suggest storing it in there, too – with all of the eggs and applesauce.

Yield:  8 Servings. Each serving equals 1/3 protein and 1/4 fruit portions and daily protein powder.

About scrapbk4fun

I am the mother of two girls. I am flawed beyond measure. I have a Doctorate Degree in Educational Leadership. I have been a social worker, truancy officer, scrapbook store owner, counselor, Special Education Director, and am currently the Principal of a fairly large middle school. I am passionate about my faith, family, career and education. I enjoy ventriloquism, cooking, scrapbooking, photography, exercising and spending time with my family. My favorite vacation spot is the beach, although I love anywhere that is outdoors! Extraordinarily Boring Adventures are stories from my memory of my childhood. They may or may not be accurate, but are just what I remember. While Dieting, Food, and Other Life Struggles are just my way of sharing about life. Hope you enjoy reading about this simple thing called life.

Leave a Reply

